2019 Nissan Sentra Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2024)

Alex Showalter

Dec 17, 2022

The 2019 Nissan Sentra lasts around 200,000 miles with only some relatively minor A/C system and stereo issues reported. At $16,650 to $21,250, it’s a good value for a compact car with more passenger room than the competition.

2019 Nissan Sentra Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (1)

The Good

There’s more cargo space than other compact cars, ownership costs are low and it’s very efficient.

The Bad

The handling is very loose, there’s a lot of engine noise and the seats are not very comfortable.

Is the 2019 Nissan Sentra a Good Used Car?

  • Overall Rating 7/10 – 2019 is a good year for the Nissan Sentra, although it’s still not a great car since it’s so outdated, giving it a lower overall score. Owner reviews praise the comfortable suspension, cargo room, as well as the entertainment technology.
  • Interior, Comfort & Cargo 6/10 – Interior materials are cheap compared to other small cars, the cushions are thin, yet the trunk is larger than many other compact sedans.
  • Reliability 8/10 – There are no widespread mechanical issues on the 2019 Nissan Sentra. Stay away from models from 20112016 which have transmission failures. Models from 20172021 are much more reliable.
  • Performance 6/10 – Performance is poor from both of the 4-cylinder engine options, making it slower than most competitors.
  • Safety 7/10 – The 2019 Sentra is reasonably safe, earning 4 out of 5 stars in government crash tests. There’s a standard rearview camera. Blind spot monitoring, forward collision warning, automatic emergency braking, along with adaptive cruise control are optional.
  • Gas Mileage 8/10 – Fuel economy is good at up to 32 MPG, giving 422 miles of range out of the 13.2 gallon tank. Gas costs are $54 cheaper than average at $149 per month.
  • Value 7/10 – The 2019 Nissan Sentra is cheaper than many other compact cars, although it also feels outdated, leading to quicker depreciation.

Positive Owner Reviews

Maidelys D

This car will suit old my needs.

I love all the inside detail. It's good on gas. Braking is good. I love that it comes with a back up camera. Overall this car will suit all my needs to get me back and forth to work and vacation. Personally I feel that my car is as it should be, it has the necessary technology to drive safely and more comfortably. On long trips it is very comfortable, now enough gasoline. This car is not a sports car, it is not a high end luxury car, but it has a sporty look, and it has a luxury looking interior, well appointed co*ckpit, everything is in easy reach, and it does not look at all like a piece of plastic that gauges are thrown into, so if you like a reliable car with flair, with a fair price this is the way to go.

Angela A

Close up warning smooth driving.

Very reliable, smooth driving. My car is black and very roomy, I am a large lady and I have plenty of room. I love the hands free. I use the cruise control all the time. It will get up and go when I need it to also. If I get too close to another car it will let me know, love that.

Marvin G

The vehicle is interesting at all you really don't need anything it was designed.

The car is spacious comfortable with warning sensors in front and alongside with technology . With a body style the cost is good investment to last a long time at an affordable cost, I like damping system the ingine how smooth the parts are heard is economical to repair any wear that has.

Amy K

2019 Nissan sentra is a great family car.

The only problem I would say about the car and it's not even a big problem would be the backup camera. It is a little blurry and it doesn't help guide you in the direction backing up or it doesn't beep when you get close to an object. The car drives so smooth. It is such a great family car.

Brianne B

Awesome it is the perfect family car.

I have had my car for a little over a year now and I love it. It is easy to drive. Has a backup camera which comes in handy. It is white. Has great outer and inner interior. Fits 5 people. Large trunk space. Leased at only 800 miles. Very pleased. You would be too.

Jacob R

2019 Nissan sentra s: a positive review.

This is the first car I have bought new, so a lot of the features are new to me. I listen to a lot of music so the fact that it has Bluetooth connection is very convenient. The car has not had any problems since we bought it, and immediately after purchasing we made a trip from East Texas to the coast of California, and it was great on gas and a very smooth ride considering everything we had in the car. Overall this is a very nice car for a very good price and if I had to do it over again I'd buy this car every time.

Gabby H

This car is extremely comfortable and easy.

I absolutely love my car because it is extremely easy to drive and super duper comfortable. I feel like it is the perfect kind of car for a college student who has to drive a long distance often. I have enjoyed all of my time with this car. It is my perfect choice for anyone.

Tammy L

2019 Nissan sentra. Snowflake white.

Smooth ride. Nice features. Easy to use digital features. USB capability so you can play your own playlist. Electric windows. Leather heated seats. Safety feature to let you know when you are too close to a vehicular or if one is coming up beside you. Making it safer to change lanes.

Negative Owner Reviews

Meagan D

Very disappointing to say the least.

The car itself is not bad, drives smoothly. The features are very basic. Nothing spectacular. Not really a huge fan of Nissan. For a 24,000 dollar car I feel like I could have definitely found something better for my buck that I would actually enjoy more. Only thing I'll say I like is that it is great on gas. 22 bucks gets me a full tank.

Madilynn Whittle

Worst Car Ever

(NJ) I got my NEW 2019 Nissan this past August. Everything was fine until 3 weeks later my stereo kept crashing. I took to my dealership and they told me I was pressing buttons and didn’t believe me. They did a diagnostic test, couldn’t find anything. I left upset! It continued to crash , so my next day off I went to Nissan again! I yelled at everyone because I pay toooooooo much money for this car to be acting this way. Then one of the service employees told me my iPhone 10 max wasn’t compatible for my car. They just say anything so they won’t replace the stereo. So I put a claim in to corporate and complained about them. Few days later the service manager emailed me and said they’ll replace it. Cool,right? No. The new one crashes as well. I’m so over this. DONT BUY THIS CAR!!!!! I’m highly dissatisfied. Now they’re telling me I have to record while I’m driving to prove to them the new one crashes. I’m so done with this place!

Ken C

Starts by itself without remote start option

Absolutely not. The electrical system in this car is a nightmare, It starts by itself, and doesn't have remote start, in store and over intercom was told my car is running and window's down twice, my neighbors have sat laughing watching the window's go up and by themselves, stereo coming on full blast when were in the house. Took to dealer after 2nd day, nothing wrong, took back 3 other times, nothing wrong, got attorney for LEMON LAW suit.Now wife put in park and it rolled into my garage door, what next it drives itself???? Nissan refuses to acknowledge a problem even with sworn statements.

Sharon

Whole car is important

I bought the car with 10 miles on it and brought it back less then a week later telling them, the radio comes on and off when i am not in car and the windows come up and down an d no key or fob around? They claim nothing is wrong, Brought it in 2 more times, nothing wrong. Also brought in for transmission problems, Nothing wrong!!! I am filing and have with lemon law! DONT BUY IF YOU DONT WANT A LIFTIME OF PROBLEMS

Jessie Bemount

The driving too close alarm. The can't get my keys out of the ignition. Pick one

My Nissan Sentra beeps and shows crash picture a lot. Very distrating as I will be the only car within blocks. The say the screen on the bumper is d***y. I just got it wash and it still does that. The radio dial on the steering wheel is also distracting. It I turn the corner the radio changes channels. No one needs two radio channels within arms reach. Today my key wouldn't come out of the ignition.No matter how I jiggled the steering wheel. I had it in park and the hand brake was on.The keys are still in the ignition. Luckily I have a garage to park it in. Too many gadgits to go wrong. This car is a distracted drive vehicle just waiting for an accident.

Kira C

I would not buy this car again.

The car is to small. The transmission always seems to be running on high rpms. Makes noise when hits bumps. Not satisfied with the craftsmanship. The radio is not good poor quality all around. The only plus is it is good on gas.I would not recommend this car. The payment is way to much for what I am actually getting.

Jesse G

Not a good car for the money.

Not reliable, have had to take it in multiple times for the brake not letting me turn on the car. Underpowered, makes terrible groans when accelerating. Not as efficient as advertised, get worse than the 32 average that is claimed. Android auto freezes up and does not work a lot. Not very comfortable.

Patty Hiltibidal

Problems

Drove my 2019 Sentra off the lot 2 weeks ago with 8 miles on it. Last week the forward collision warning went out. Warranty covered. Yesterday service engine light came on so back to the Nissan dealer I go. Got a rental for the night. Found out today the cam valve gear is bad. Part ordered but another day in the shop. Two different problems within 2 weeks. Has me scared now!

What Do Critics Say About the Nissan Sentra?

  • Consumer Reports says the Nissan Sentra is lagging behind other compact cars with lower owner satisfaction scores.
  • Edmunds rates the Sentra at 3.1/5, praising the nice stereo system, but doesn’t like the thin cushions on the seats.
  • Kelley Blue Book users give the Sentra a 3.7/5, enjoying the spacious cabin for a small car, but owners don’t like the slow engines.

What Common Problems Does the 2019 Nissan Sentra Have?

Common problems found on the 2019 Nissan Sentra include A/C system issues, a frozen stereo system, as well as some brake sensor failures. Overall, these problems are similar to other compact cars from 2019, leading to average repair bills as a Sentra ages.

A/C system issues are the most common complaint from owners of a 2019 Nissan Sentra at around 3,000 miles. The A/C system fails to turn on or off with the buttons on the dash. There are reports of the button failing, and having to be replaced. Changing out the button is fairly easy, only costing around $75 depending on local labor rates.

A frozen stereo system also shows up on some 2019 Sentra models at around 10,000 miles. There are software updates available for the stereo which improves its reliability. Most dealerships will install the updates for free, while others may charge around $50.

Brake sensor failures with the emergency automatic braking system have also been reported by Sentra owners at around 15,000 miles. The most common reason the automatic brake sensor fails is just due to damage. Replacing the sensor costs around $350, depending on local labor rates.

There are 2 recalls on the 2019 Nissan Sentra, which is better than many other compact cars. The first recall covers the rearview camera, which is fixed by a free software update. The second recall covers the brake lights, and Nissan will replace the brake light switch on affected models for free. Overall, neither of the recalls are mechanically serious.

How Long Will the 2019 Nissan Sentra Last?

A well-maintained 2019 Nissan Sentra can last around 200,000 miles, which is around 100,000 miles shorter than the long-lasting Toyota Corolla. Regular annual maintenance costs are lower than many other small cars, according to data from Repair Pal, at $358 per year.

As a used 2019 Nissan Sentra reaches 100,000 miles owners should be prepared to replace the A/C condenser fan motor for $325, water pump costing $475, as well as the transmission mounts which cost $200.

Morris P

The sentra is extremely reliable in both drivability and fuel economy. The car feel sturdy and efficient.

Seth S

I haven't had any serious problems with the 2019 Nissan sentra s. Although, sometimes the audio skips and does not connect to the phone via apple carplay.

Kim K

Very reliable. Had it for months. Only needs routine maintenance checks. With proper care car will last 10 years plus or 150,000 miles.

ARLENE A

It is annoying every time the weather drops to 37 a reminder goes off to say that the temperature has dropped. Even though the temperature is on the dashboard.

Meredith R

Absolutely reliable. The only issue I have had is with brake assist. The alarm on my dash keeps going off for no reason.

Christina G

It’s very reliable. So far for the time that I have had it, I have not had any sort of issues. I am very pleased with it.

Yes it is very reliable. It is great with gas mileage and is very easy to understand and use. Sometimes the voice command can be annoying, but that is in most cars

Esther P

It hasn't given me any problems yet. It runs smoothly and has an ECO button for those long drives to save gas.

How Is the Technology?

Entertainment technology is very good in the 2019 Nissan Sentra since it offers a standard 7-inch touchscreen. Optional upgrades include a more powerful stereo system along with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto capabilities.

Safety technology is nice for a compact economy car with a standard rearview camera. Optional safety features include blind spot warning, rear cross traffic alert, forward collision warning, automatic emergency braking, as well as adaptive cruise control.

Is the 2019 Nissan Sentra a Good Value?

Yes, the 2019 Nissan Sentra is a good value since it’s more affordable than many other compact cars on the market. The blue book fair purchase price ranges from $16,650 to $21,250, making it cheaper than a Honda Civic or Mazda3. When new, the price range was $17,990 o $26,040. Depreciation is worse than other small sedans, losing about 12% of its current value per year.

What are the Different Models of the Nissan Sentra?

There are six models of the 2019 Nissan Sentra available, from the base S all the way up to the luxurious SL.

S is the entry-level model with:

  • 16-inch Steel Wheels
  • Cloth Seating
  • Automatic Headlights
  • Air Conditioning
  • 60/40-Split Folding Rear Seatbacks
  • Cruise Control
  • 7-Inch Central Touchscreen
  • Rearview Camera
  • USB Port
  • Four-Speaker Sound System

SV is a step up, adding:

  • 16-Inch Alloy Wheels
  • Rear Disc Brakes
  • Keyless Entry and Ignition
  • Upgraded Cloth Upholstery
  • Dual-Zone Automatic Climate Control
  • Apple CarPlay and Android Auto
  • Satellite Radio
  • Six-Speaker Sound System

SR is next in the lineup with:

  • LED Headlights
  • Unique Cloth Upholstery
  • Fog Lights
  • Adaptive Cruise Control
  • Sport Body Kit
  • Foglights
  • Heated Mirrors

SR Turbo has upgrades including:

  • More Powerful Engine
  • Sport-Tuned Suspension
  • Recalibrated Steering
  • Upgraded Front Brakes
  • Sunroof

Nismo is the sportiest model which adds:

  • 18-Inch Alloy Wheels
  • Upgraded Suspension
  • Rear Spoiler
  • Nismo Interior Package
  • Eight-Speaker Bose Stereo System

SL is the flagship model which has:

  • Leather Upholstery
  • Heated Front Seats
  • Upgraded Interior Trim

S

124 HP 32 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

SV

124 HP 32 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

SR

124 HP 32 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

SR Turbo

188 HP 29 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

SL

124 HP 32 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

NISMO

188 HP 27 MPG

View Details chevronRightAlternative

What Engines Come In the Nissan Sentra?

  • The base engine is a weak 1.8L 4-cylinder with 124 horsepower which gets up to 32 MPG. It comes with either a six-speed manual or a continuously variable automatic transmission (CVT).
  • A step up found on the Sentra SR Turbo and Sentra Nismo models is a stronger 1.6L 4-cylinder turbo which produces 188 horsepower at up to 29 MPG. It’s also available with either a six-speed manual transmission or CVT. Performance is good, taking 7.2 seconds to go from 0-60 MPH.

What Colors Does the Nissan Sentra Come In?

How Comfortable Is the Nissan Sentra?

The 2019 Nissan Sentra is a reasonably comfortable compact sedan with seating for up to five passengers. Seating is not as nice as some competitors with thin cushions and some basic materials on the entry-level models.

Passenger room is decent throughout the cabin, with enough legroom in the back seats for adults.

How Much Storage Space Does the Nissan Sentra Have?

Cargo space is fantastic compared to other compact cars, offering enough room for 3-5 full size suitcases.

2019 Nissan Sentra Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2)

What Are the Differences Between Years?

The seventh generation of the Nissan Sentra came out in 2013, and was replaced by the eighth generation in 2020.

2015: Bluetooth & USB ports standard on all models.

2016: New driver information screen, minor exterior styling changes to the bumpers.

2017: Larger center console and new SR Turbo model.

2018: Emergency automatic braking standard on all models.

2019: Nissan Connect infotainment system standard on SR, SL, and Nismo models.

2020: Fully redesigned for the eighth generation with new styling, safety tech, and engines.

2021: Wi-Fi hotspot added, standard Apple CarPlay and Android Auto.

How Does the Nissan Sentra Compare to the Competition?

The 2019 Nissan Sentra is a decent compact car, offering good reliability ratings paired with a spacious interior compared to the competition.

The Nissan Altima is a larger sedan offered by Nissan which costs around $1,200 more. Passenger room is better in the Nissan Altima, while the Nissan Sentra offers more responsive steering. We recommend the Nissan Altima since you get more practicality for your money, although both are decent sedans for the 2019 model year.

The Honda Civic is another compact competitor, which is around $2,000 more. Interior materials are better in the Honda Civic, while the Nissan Sentra has slightly lower ownership costs. We recommend the Honda Civic since it’s more fun to drive, and also has better long-term reliability ratings.

Ranks #16 Small Cars by Owners

1

Tie

2019 FIAT 500e

5

1

Tie

2019 Buick Cascada

5

16

2019 Nissan Sentra

4.39

Do Owners Recommend the Nissan Sentra?

Morris P

Yes, the vehicle is outstanding. The drivers area is very comfortable and functional. The passenger compartment is roomy and comfortable and the interior has all of the necessary components and several additional compliments.

Seth S

Yes, the Nissan sentra s is good on gas and has a comfortable interior. I really like the audio sound system. It has a good range for bass and treble. The car is really good on gas and has good miles per gallon.

Kim K

Yes- love the back.Up camera and front collision: space sensor.Excellent fuel - mileage consumption as well. Built in bluetooth is helpful also.

ARLENE A

So far needed a few minor adjustments and recall that I had to bring the car in to be service. It is easy to drive, but I would have liked to have a compass in the car.

Carla S

It is a great affordable vehicle. Great gas mileage. Roomy but yet small and easy to drive. I have been a Nissan owner for many years

Ashlee B

A very good vehicle. A big time gas saver. And it’s very spacious as well, not needing to worry in regards to any more spacious needed.

Kelsey S

Yes, it is easy to drive, affordable and has all of the features any driver needs. It is perfect for commuting to work!

Natalie I

It is an excellent vehicle. It is a special edition with many features. My favorite feature is the Bluetooth which allows me to talk on phone and use GPS.

Owner Reviews

messageEdit Write a Review

Amy K on June 25, 2021

2019 Nissan sentra is a great family car.

The only problem I would say about the car and it's not even a big problem would be the backup camera. It is a little blurry and it doesn't help guide you in the direction backing up or it doesn't beep when you get close to an object. The car drives so smooth. It is such a great family car.

Charles E on June 25, 2021

A great car at a great price.

It is a simple car that does what I need it to. I originally wanted an Altima but Nissan has really changed the Altimas so I went with the sentra. I like the back up camera and the acceleration. Handling is smooth and responsive. The sound system is bare bones but it still sounds good to me.

Eric S on June 24, 2021

The gas mileage, repeatedly the gas mileage.

The 2019 Nissan sentra is a joy to drive. The best feature I think is the gas mileage and gas performance. I can fill up the tank and go from Columbia SC to charlotte NC with a quart of a tank to still go. Love the hands free and all the power charging options from USB to the standard adaptor plug. It is a great car.

Brytania M on June 23, 2021

2019 Nissan sentra, a safe and reliable vehicle!

The vehicle is very comfortable and reliable. It is inexpensive as far as oil changes and parts, and it gets great gas mileage. The backup camera is amazing, and I love the Bluetooth capabilities. The only issue we’ve had is that the rubber gasket around the rear driver side door came apart very shortly after we bought it, so that was a bit of a nuisance. It has some really great safety features, like the collision notification if you are getting too close to another vehicle.

JAIRO R on June 21, 2021

Excellent vehiculos u recommend and suggest to buy.

It is good and affordable in snow economic in gas I recordar to buy luxury and comfortable good space and safety coming in varieties color and modules and good tires and safety to the family god car to save miles and run excellent the interior is very countable and the seat coming in different materials leder fabric and diferentes color and variety.

Shannon M on June 16, 2021

It has a good mix of features/options for the price.

It is fine. It meets my basic expectations of getting me where I need to go. I do not love it but I do not hate it. I really like the apple CarPlay and the heated seats. I dislike the color I ended up with (gray). I like having a sunroof but find I do not use it all that often. I wish it had power seats and a heated steering wheel. I like that it has automatic headlights and a smart key.

Wesley K on June 16, 2021

A reliable car that is fun to drive.

The performance of the car is excellent as it drives smoothly and it is reliable. The only issue I have with the car is the radar sensor where it beeps when I am turning, telling me that there is a car in front me when there is not. That is my only complaint.

Tuan P on June 8, 2021

Great car, not looking for anything new anytime soon.

Super comfortable and reliable vehicle. No problems with it yet. Currently only gripe is that it is not a keyless start ignition but that is negligible considering how nice the car is otherwise. Drives really nice, quiet, just took it in for service and it is got a clean bill of health.

Alex K on June 3, 2021

Review of a Nissan sentra.

No problems with it at all, performance is great, reliable all the time, I would highly recommend a car like this to anybody because it is worth it without a doubt. It is a very safe car to have all together... If you were looking into buying a car, you need to get a Nissan sentra. Very reliable, performance is great, very comfortable car to be in.

Iris S on June 3, 2021

Great vehicle for a single person!

I like that the Nissan sentra appears like a 'small' vehicle. However, it has plenty of room but can be small for someone over 5'10. It is quiet comfortable and spacey with all five seats occupied. I like all the features the car has including a rare view camera. One thing I do not really like is sometimes it takes awhile to speed up. Overall I love my car and all the features it has. It is a great car for a single person.

Abrianna T on May 31, 2021

Small and low to the ground. The car is very fast and rides very smooth.

My car is very low to the ground, therefore anytime I hit anything it messes with the sensors. The car is good on gas mileage. The Bluetooth feature is good and picks up well most of the time. There are times that the Bluetooth will have a hard time picking up on my phone and that is annoying at times. The car is very good at giving alerts when the system notices a problem.

Jessica H on May 29, 2021

Gets really good gas mileage.

Seemed like a decent car when it was purchased. Have had to have a few things replaced, a motion sensor, and left front speaker. There’s always a sound like air is coming through the passenger side window in the backseat. They said the seals are fine it just sounds like that.

Chris S on May 21, 2021

Simple but efficient design.

Body is fragile but good mileage. It is convenient and a good size without being too big. Not too many extra gadgets. The car has a simple design and the car drives well with good control and design. Good space in the car and storage in the trunk.

Angela M on May 21, 2021

Reliable and comfortable car.

This Nissan is a very reliable and comfortable car. I highly recommend it to everyone. It drives smooth and I haven't had any problems with it. The service people at Nissan are great to deal with and super helpful. The key fob did have an issue but they fixed it.

Pamela F on May 20, 2021

The seatbelt indicator noise does not work. How awesome is that?

I love everything about my Nissan except the fact that it is a 4 cylinder. It is good on gas, it is reliable, it is comfortable. If you are short like me ( 5 feet tall) the side view mirror is a hindrance when trying to make a left turn. I suppose if you sat on a pillow that would eliminate that issue, but I do not like pillows. I have a basic model but that includes all the features I need.

Kelsey S on May 19, 2021

Our best car in the family.

My car drives very smooth. It is a 2019 grey Nissan sentra. It has silver rims. It is a comfortable traveling car for long road trips. It has heated seats on the passenger and drivers side. It has a Bluetooth speaker. It has a siri. It has a screen to show the GPS. I have not had a problem with this car after having it for over a year. It is my most reliable car in the family and I expect to have it for years.

Shann M on May 18, 2021

Pleased with the sensual sentra.

The sentra has great gas mileage, comfortable and heated seats, and a larger trunk. Great screen for phone and GPS usage. Power windows and locks are standard, but an advancement from my last car! The only problem I have had with my car included an electrical glitch, but was easily fixed with an update.

Jessica L on May 16, 2021

2019 Nissan sentra - the best little car except in the desert.

The car overall is outstanding however there is an issue with the air conditioning. I live in a hot desert climate that for 2 months out of the year humidity can be high. Just a few weeks ago we hit the high 120s with humidity at 26% and above on a daily basis. What I learned is that not only can the ac not keep up but it will start blowing scorching hot air in your face. When I brought it to the dealership to be checked I was told the car was fine that unfortunately their air conditioning systems just would not work with that heat/humidity combo.

Tiffany L on May 15, 2021

It is okay for someone with a small family but I think there are better options.

Supposed to be a new car but has lots of problems. No armrest in the back or air vents. There are charging ports on the back which is cool. Pretty decent amount of space. Does not have a spot for CDs but it does have Bluetooth. Only one seat in the back has a pocket. There’s a pretty good amount of space in the trunk.

Adriana P on May 12, 2021

Smooth drive and actually warns you about everything that is important.

This has been the best vehicle that I have own. Love that it has all around warnings when you are too close to cars. Also it has a rear camera that helps when reversing never use my mirror to reverse. The only thing is that the tires get flat when the weather changes. It is great in gas and you cannot even tell the car is on because it does not make any noise at all.

Moises C on May 11, 2021

It is a high recommendation to get once you have good experience in driving.

It is really smooth in the brakes and stirring. Has Bluetooth installed, emergency break, and great feeling in the seat cushion just makes rides more better. It is a really great looking model for people who do not go out often but still have the feeling of having a nice car for anyplace.

Josh E on May 11, 2021

The gas mileage is best, second to none. 30 miles per gallon.

It is always been dependable. Never broke down. Not super slow when trying to get around. It is really great on gas and gets 30 miles per gallon on average. The radio is really nice and is touch screen. The speakers are nice and clear when I play my music.

Nujsisloob V on May 11, 2021

Best $13,000 I have spent.

I love the look of the exterior, specifically the sporty looking bottom 'lip' that is also color matched with the whole car. The other feature that I really enjoy is the apple CarPlay/android auto infotainment system. I use it everyday for music and maps whenever I am traveling. The car is not the best in terms of power, but the mpg is much better than my previous vehicle. I can get from 1/4 of tank to full with only around $16 or more at the current gas prices ($1.93-$2.00).

Madilynn Whittle on May 9, 2021

Worst Car Ever

(NJ) I got my NEW 2019 Nissan this past August. Everything was fine until 3 weeks later my stereo kept crashing. I took to my dealership and they told me I was pressing buttons and didn’t believe me. They did a diagnostic test, couldn’t find anything. I left upset! It continued to crash , so my next day off I went to Nissan again! I yelled at everyone because I pay toooooooo much money for this car to be acting this way. Then one of the service employees told me my iPhone 10 max wasn’t compatible for my car. They just say anything so they won’t replace the stereo. So I put a claim in to corporate and complained about them. Few days later the service manager emailed me and said they’ll replace it. Cool,right? No. The new one crashes as well. I’m so over this. DONT BUY THIS CAR!!!!! I’m highly dissatisfied. Now they’re telling me I have to record while I’m driving to prove to them the new one crashes. I’m so done with this place!

Layne R on May 7, 2021

The ups and the downs of having a Nissan.

I love the Nissan drives, I have also driven a rogue at work. They are very smooth cars to drive. They have great gas mileage. This one is going to sound a bit weird but I really enjoy the sound system in them. The one thing I have notices is they seem to have transmission problems early on, even with regular maintenance.

Esmeralda M on May 5, 2021

This car is great on gas!

I just got my car recently and I haven't run into any problems. This car has great performance and reliability. Super comfy and it comes with a back up camera. Good trunk space and spacious back seat. This car is also the best on gas. I can fill my tank with $20 at most.

Haley B on May 1, 2021

My car has a pearly finish and the tires are really nice.

I love my Nissan sentra. It is a brand new car and I have not had any issues with it so far minus getting a new tire due a nail in it. My car feels very safe to drive with its features. It rides smoothly and the music sounds good as well. It is a shiny silver and since it is a special edition, it also has a moon roof which I like.

cordell G on May 1, 2021

My first car is pretty great ??.

My car has great mpg I only have to fill up maybe once a week. The only problem I have had so far was a brake switch going bad but the problem was quickly fixed and I haven't had any more problems since. Thankfully the car measures tire pressure and lets me know if there is a problem or if I just need to get air. The seats are very soft and I have plenty of leg room when I am driving.

Nicolas F on April 30, 2021

Great car for safety and reliability.

It is a great car that is great for safe drivers. It has a lot of cool features like rear view camera to help safely park. It has a sensor in the front to help reduce a potential crash. It has a screen inside that you can hook your phone up to that will allow you to display GPS and music. Even though I would prefer if it was built in without me needing my phone for that feature. Great speakers and bass. Superb handling, turns felt pretty smooth. Has great acceleration and brakes. Other than nitpicks about the screen features it is overall a great car.

Chelsea B on April 28, 2021

Great and compact vehicle for all your daily needs.

I mean its a 4 cylinder so it's not super fast but I love the back up camera and the size and the screen in front. I wish it had the feature where it can save up to 2 seat settings and just switches to whoever is driving. It is a great car on gas I get almost 400 miles on a full tank.

Hayley P on April 23, 2021

Reliable and cute, Nissan sentra.

I love it, everything runs great! I got a great deal on the car with an amazing warranty as well! The car is very spacious despite its small body! The sv is nice but I would of rather had the sr! I would definitely splurge for the 2020 where they changed the body and the interior!

Kalman F on April 15, 2021

Nissan sentra 2019. Great vehicles.

Great compact car. Decent mileage. Clunky steering. Apple CarPlay freezes sometimes. No auto headlights on s trim. No button to open car from outside. Seats are comfortable. Handling in rough weather is a little slow. No moonroof or remote start. Would love to see remote start on a trim.

Tori M on April 15, 2021

Perfect car for commuting.

I really enjoy my car. It is very dependable I commute to work and it takes about an hour going to work and another hour coming home from work and my car has never failed me once. It is a really great car to keep in mind when thinking of buying a new car. The interior design is very beautiful I thought I would hate leather seating during the summer but for the very first time the leather seating in my car does not burn when getting in which is such a great feature. The Bose speakers that come with it are also very amazing my music is very clear and it sounds amazing. Gas mileage on the car is great as well, because I work a little far I needed a car that was good on gas and I got that with this car and filling it up does not even cost as much especially in the economy today car like this is perfect.

Nyesha V on April 14, 2021

Safety at its finest luxury.

The security brake very helpful and gas mileage is great and honestly I wouldn’t take the car back it is a great safe reliable vehicle to have your kids comfortable and not a worry in the world and it gives you the smoothest ride in town that is all I can really think of.

julia H on April 14, 2021

The complications and luxuries of my Nissan sentra 2019.

My Nissan sentra is a great car. But, there are a few issues. For instance, my car is very light, as if it is made from completely plastic. My middle console (touchscreen) does not always work unfortunately. Sometimes I have to cut my car off then back on. It becomes irritating after a while. But my Nissan is very good on gas. It does not even take an entire 20 dollars to fill up the tank which is not too bad.

Kennedy M on April 13, 2021

Excellent gas mileage for a low price.

Overall this is a great car. For about twenty dollars, I can fill up the entire tank. An entire tank gets me about four hundred twenty miles. It rides smooth and there is a lot of room throughout the entire car. It also has a decent sound system. So far no problems.

Jennifer E on April 8, 2021

2019 Nissan sentra; best purchase of my young adult life!

Love my 2019 Nissan sentra! It has all the bells and whistles without the added cost. It runs well and I never have to work about anything other than general maintenance. I have never had a problem with it and I have been very satisfied with the purchase so far. Cannot go wrong with a Nissan!

Lici M on April 6, 2021

Nissan sentra sv has cool features.

I love that my car is great on gas mileage, has lots of trunk space and really nice features, like dual ac controls and a moonroof. It is comfortable enough to drive for long periods, even for my 6'4' boyfriend. The only thing it lacks is a heated seat or steering wheel.

Heather H on April 4, 2021

Nissan sentra, poorly made.

The vehicle’s Bluetooth is terrible. It constantly turns off on its own so I am never able to truly listen to my music. The car is also cheaply made. However, it is great on gas, which is a plus! The gas saver is truly the best thing about the car, other than that, there is not enough features and the features that is does have are poorly made.

Samantha G on April 3, 2021

The Nissan sentra is a great family car, extremely comfortable.

I am extremely satisfied with our vehicle. It is comfortable, drives great. It is a smooth ride. Several different features my favorite of course is the backup camera, it is great for road trips with the family looks real nice on the road, it also has spacious room in the trunk.

Angel M on April 2, 2021

Great car with spacious elements and a very safe drive.

Really nice car! Drives very smooth. Spacious interior and sleek exterior. Back up mirror helps so much especially if you are inexperienced with parallel parking. Saves you tons of money on gas and feels very safe to drive. Has USB ports in the back for charging and cup holders as well. Trunk very spacious as well.

Sandra O on April 2, 2021

Great mileage on gas awesome body type.

I like the excellent performance, stylish design makes it look expensive but is not. Great on gas! That is why I continue to choose Nissan. The comfort is extremely good a lot of legroom. You cannot beat the price with its overall awesome body type, mileage and performance.

Liz R on March 31, 2021

A quick review of a 2019 Nissan sentra.

I have no real issues except that the mpg is not as good as they say it is, and the driver assistance for braking does not always work well. It is a very comfortable car though, I have had no issues with reliability and love the Bluetooth features and the extra charging port in the middle console.

Monica M on March 31, 2021

Reliable, no problems, easy to understand.

There's been a few recalls of my car. Heater and ac work wonderfully and fast. I enjoy having the rear camera to reverse park. Despite the recalls, my car has never given me problems. Especially during winter in Wisconsin. This car is something you would want if you are looking for anything reliable.

denise L on March 30, 2021

My vehicle is nice, I love the color of it, it's a dark grey with nice rims.

My car is in good terms just have to check up on it every day make sure it runs well. Oil check every 3 months and rotation of tires as well. The gas is good, it saves a lot not like most cars. Overall it's a good car to use to get you around places. Just have to take care of it very well.

Adrian R on March 29, 2021

My Nissan sentra review. It's excellent!

Love the car. Its dependable and good on gas mileage and saves a lot of money. It's not a big car but it's also not a tight fit it's a perfect size for a small family of 3. The price is decent it's not overpriced and I feel like you get your money's worth for what you say.

Maria M on March 28, 2021

Everything you want and need!

This 2019 Nissan sentra sv is everything you could ever want and need in a car. Apple airplay, Bluetooth and satellite radio. Rear reverse camera and a front braking safety feature. Perfect car for new drivers or someone who wants a reliable and efficient car.

Sarah M on March 28, 2021

Nissan sentra sv review white, seat warmers and other nice features.

I love my Nissan sentra. I have never had any issues with it and it runs very smoothly. It always gets me where I need to go and I feel like the tank lasts a pretty good amount of time. The gas is not too expensive. Overall the car has a very luxurious feel for an affordable price. My car has seat warmers and a few upgrades. It is extremely comfortable especially for long drives. I would feel very comfortable taking a road trip in it because it is an extremely reliable car and has never given me any issues.

Sharon P on March 24, 2021

Overall the vehicle is good.

It drives smooth and has a comfortable ride. The car is very reliable but has a problem with the front sensor and it goes comes on that it needs service. The sensor has been recalled and needs to be replaced again. I am not a big fan of the auto stop because it has almost gotten me hit from behind so I turn it off.

Paige M on March 19, 2021

2019 Nissan sentra sv. Perfect for on road cruising and commuting.

My 2019 Nissan sentra sv with the CVT transmission has so far been a good vehicle. The first problem I had with it has been the transmission. Good for comfortable driving but not meant for any performance what’s so ever. And at times I find that it is a tad underpowered when going up more than a slight incline. And definitely had less power than cars of the same price point from other brands. However, the aeb system has made for some close calls and helped me avoid accidents more than once. It does not have a lot of tech features but it does have the backup camera and apple CarPlay stereo which I really appreciate. The seats are comfortable and the front seats have plenty of legroom for a 5’ 10” person and a little less room for someone of the same size in the back. All in all, it has been a reliable car so far. I have 17,000 miles on it.

Alex Showalter

Alex is an automotive enthusiast with over 15 years of experience in the used car market. He brings a wealth of knowledge to Vehicle History as our Staff Writer and has written hundreds of used car reviews helping buyers make informed purchasing decisions. He is a member of the Automotive Press Association, and keeps up-to-date on the latest changes in the industry. Over the years, he has driven hundreds of cars, working on many of them. His mechanical experience evolved from modifying off-road trucks as a teen to focusing on automotive electrical systems as he got older. He now specializes in reviewing used cars as an automotive journalist. Some of his favorite brands are Toyota and BMW. The Toyota Land Cruiser is one of his favorite vehicles of all time since they’re built to last forever and can go anywhere. One of his current cars is a Lexus LX570, built on the same platform as the 200-series Land Cruiser, but it’s a better value in the used market.

    2019 Nissan Sentra Review, Problems, Reliability, Value, Life Expectancy, MPG (2024)
    Top Articles
    Latest Posts
    Article information

    Author: Carmelo Roob

    Last Updated:

    Views: 6151

    Rating: 4.4 / 5 (45 voted)

    Reviews: 92% of readers found this page helpful

    Author information

    Name: Carmelo Roob

    Birthday: 1995-01-09

    Address: Apt. 915 481 Sipes Cliff, New Gonzalobury, CO 80176

    Phone: +6773780339780

    Job: Sales Executive

    Hobby: Gaming, Jogging, Rugby, Video gaming, Handball, Ice skating, Web surfing

    Introduction: My name is Carmelo Roob, I am a modern, handsome, delightful, comfortable, attractive, vast, good person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.